Social research projections

The projections

projections2015.ch projects the percentage party strengths, from which it derives the distribution of seats in those 15 cantons that had five or more seats in 2011. Tessin canton is projected separately and integrated into the national projection. Initial projections for individual cantons are expected immediately at 12:00pm, with a projection of party strengths and numbers of seats across Switzerland becoming available at 7:00pm. 


Method

The projections are based not on voter polls but on real voting results. In the individual projection cantons, the party votes of the first municipalities to declare are compared against the data from 2011 and projected for the canton as a whole. In cantons that count the voting papers first, the projections are initially based on these data in an initial round. Naturally, the voting power of the municipalities is weighted. The projections for the individual cantons show the party strengths as a percentage, from which the distribution of seats is derived. For the projection for Switzerland as a whole, which is issued at 7:00pm, the definitive results of one canton are combined with the projections of the remaining cantons.


Precision

Although the large number of parties and lists makes election projections in Switzerland more challenging than in other countries, the projections team has previously produced projections that were very close to the final results.

Sozialforschung Hochrechnungen

 

Die Hochrechnungen

projections2015.ch rechnet die prozentualen Parteistärken und davon abgeleitet die Sitzverteilung in denjenigen 15 Kantonen hoch, die 2011 fünf und mehr Sitzen hatten. Der Kanton Tessin wird separat hochgerechnet und in die nationale Hochrechnung integriert. Erste Hochrechnungen für einzelne Kantone werden unmittelbar nach 12 Uhr errwartet, um 19:00 Uhr liegt dann eine Hochrechnung der gesamtschweizerischen Parteistärken und Sitzzahlen vor. 

Methode

Die Hochrechnungen stützen sich nicht auf die Befragung von WählerInnen, sondern auf reale Wahlresultate. In den einzelnen Hochrechnungskantonen werden die Parteistimmen der zuerst eintreffenden Gemeinden mit den Daten von 2011 verglichen und auf den Kanton hochgerechnet. In Kantonen, die zuerst die Wahlzettel auszählen, stützen sich die Hochrechnungen in einer ersten Runde zunächst auf diese Daten. Selbstverständlich wird die Stimmkraft der Gemeinden gewichtet. Die Hochrechnungen für die einzelnen Kantone weisen die Parteistärken in Prozent und davon abgeleitet die Sitzverteilung aus. Für die gesamtschweizerische Hochrechnung um 19:00 Uhr werden die definitiven Resultate der einen Kantone mit den Hochrechnungen der restlichen Kantone zusammengeführt.

Präzision

Obschon in der Schweiz angesichts der vielen Parteien und Listen Wahlhochrechnungen vielfach anspruchsvoller sind als in anderen Ländern, realisierte das Projections-Team in der Vergangenheit fast durchwegs Hochrechnungen, die sehr nahe bei den Endergebnissen lagen.