Moving IT infrastructure to the cloud

WebGate migrates the IT infrastructure
of the order system to a private cloud

Our customer is a global manufacturer of colours for textiles, papers and paints in the speciality chemicals industry. In the three business areas of textile colours, paper solutions and emulsions, Archroma attends to the specific and individual needs of customers in their local markets.

WebGate succeeded in migrating the entire order management system and the related infrastructure from the previous provider to a private cloud in a data centre of IBM SoftLayer in a very short project time.

The migration tasks included in particular:

  • Analysis of the customer-specific, highly complex order system for the ordering of colours as well as the IT infrastructure based on IBM Notes, Tomcat web application server, SQL databases and SAP data integration
  • Code review and refactoring of earlier software components, hard-coded names, email addresses and URL
  • Migration of a dozen servers to a newly built private cloud in the IBM SoftLayer data centre in Amsterdam as well as the network connection of 90 connected production and distribution locations around the globe
  • Integration of SAP, MS SQL and FTP customer connections
  • Extensive engineering of an IBM Notes Client software package and its roll-out as well as a powerful client management feature
  • Provision of an operating team for the operation, monitoring and support of this private cloud


WebGate was able to hand over the system for production operations within an extremely tight window of just eight weeks from project start. The customer praised WebGate for the “excellent quality, driven by successful and agile project management.”

Moving IT-infrastructure into the cloud

WebGate migriert die IT-Infrastruktur des Order-Systems in eine Private-Cloud

Unser Kunde ist ein weltweit agierender Hersteller von Farben für Textilien, Papier und Anstriche in der Branche der Spezialitätenchemie. In den drei Geschäftsbereichen Textilfarben, Papierlösungen und Emulsionen bedient Archroma spezifische und individuelle Bedürfnisse der Endkunden in ihren lokalen Märkten.

WebGate gelang es, in kürzester Projektzeit das gesamte Order Management System und die dazugehörige Infrastruktur vom früheren Provider in ein Datacenter von IBM SoftLayer in eine Private Cloud zu migrieren.

Zu den Migrationsaufgaben gehörten insbesondere

Analyse

des kundenspezifischen hoch komplexen Bestellsystems für die Farbenbestellung sowie der IT-Infrastruktur basierend auf IBM Notes, Tomcat Web-Application Server, SQL-Databanken sowie SAP-Daten-Integration

Code review und Refactoring

von früheren Software-Komponenten, hart codierten Namen, e-Mail Adressen und URL

Migration

von einem Dutzend Servern in eine neu gebaute Private Cloud im IBM SoftLayer Datacenter in Amsterdam sowie die Netzwerkverbindung der 90 angeschlossenen Produktions- und Vertriebsstandorten auf dem ganzen Globus

Integration

von SAP, MS SQL und FTP-Kundenverbindungen

Umfassendes Engineering

eines IBM Notes Client Softwarepaketes und dessen Roll-out sowie ein mächtiges Client Management

Bereitstellen

eines Operating-Teams für den Betrieb, Monitoring und Support dieser Private Cloud

Innerhalb des äusserst knappen Zeitfensters von nur acht Wochen ab Projektstart konnte WebGate die Anlage in den Produktionsbetrieb geben. Der Kunde attestierte der WebGate eine "exzellente Qualität, getrieben von einem erfolgreichen agilen Projektmanagement."